This page describes when and for how long Reaction Roles stores your data.
Whenever you use one of the “add” sub-commands such as
/reactionroles add or
/grouproles add, Reaction Roles will store the data you entered in its database in order to be able to process user clicks on the associated reactions. This data is associated with your server and is not accessible by any other server.
Viewing Your Data
You can use any of the “list” sub-commands such as
/reactionroles list or
/grouproles list to view the reaction roles you have created of that type. Other commands offer a “show” sub-command which can be used to view the related data stored for your server.
Data Deleted by a User
You can always remove your data. All removal commands are available in all tiers, including the free tier.
You can use any of the “remove” commands such as
/reactionroles remove or
/grouproles remove to delete any individual reaction role you have created.
You can use any of the “clear” commands such as
/reactionroles clear or
/grouproles clear to remove all reaction roles of that type that are on the specific message given in the command.
You can use any of the “wipe” commands such as
/reactionroles wipe or
/grouproles wipe to remove all reaction roles of that type on all messages in your server.
Note that when you remove any data with the commands described above, only the link between the reaction on the message and the associated reaction role is removed. Neither the message nor the reaction on the message are removed.
When you remove any data using the commands described above, the data is immediately removed from the Reaction Roles database. It is not possible to “undo” a removal of data. Removal of a reaction role will also remove any corresponding, pending timed role changes and self-destruct actions.
Data Deleted by Reaction Roles
In general, deletes of Discord data trigger a delete of any corresponding data stored by Reaction Roles.
- Deleting a message automatically triggers the deletion of any reaction roles associated with the message.
- Deleting a role automatically triggers the deletion of any corresponding reaction role.
- Deleting a reaction (or all reactions) on a message automatically triggers the deletion of any corresponding reaction roles.
Any pending timed role changes and self-destruct actions are also automatically deleted if the corresponding reaction role or message is deleted.
For example, when you delete a message in Discord that has reaction roles on it, the Reaction Roles bot will automatically delete those reaction roles from its database. It will also automatically delete any pending timed roles or self-destruct actions that are connected with the deleted message or its deleted reaction roles.
For Discord messages, you can avoid the automatic Reaction Roles data deletion by disabling the message from Reaction Roles processing (e.g. by using the
/reactionroles disable command), rather than deleting the message in Discord.
Data Deleted When You Remove the Reaction Roles Bot Integration
When you remove the Reaction Roles bot integration from your server, your server data is marked for deletion from our database in 7 days. If you re-add the Reaction Roles bot integration within that 7-day period, your previous data will still be available to you just as it was before.
If you do not re-add the Reaction Roles bot integration within 7 days, all Reaction Roles data connected with your server will be deleted. It is not possible to recover this data after it has been deleted.
The 7-day grace period after removal of the bot is to facilitate moving from our free bot to our premium bot. When you purchase a Premium subscription, you get access to use our premium bot. You should not have both the free and premium bot in the same server, so you should remove the Reaction Roles free bot integration and then add the Reaction Roles premium integration. The 7-day period allows this to happen at your own pace, without loosing any of your already configured data.